Facts & Files - Think History!Menu
Fulltext search

 

 

Review 2016

We wish you peaceful holidays and a Happy New Year!

Verband der Nahrungsmittel- und Getränkearbeiter. Werbeplakat des Verbandes, 1929. © © Archiv der sozialen Demokratie der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung

January

2015 was a special year for the German union for food trade, restaurants, Gewerkschaft Nahrung Genuss Gaststätten (NGG). The oldest German union celebrated its 150th anniversary on Christmas Eve 2015. In January 2016 we finished the last chapter of the  website. 90 years ago, in January 1926, the German Food Unions and the Central Union for Butchers decided to merge to the Union of Food and Beverage Workers.

February

The Study on research on German ministries and institutions in National Socialist Era by Christian Mentel and Niels Weise (in German) was published and is available online here http://www.ifz-muenchen.de/aktuelles/themen/ns-aufarbeitung/ The study also address our projects on the History of the Federal Office for the Protection of the Constitution and on the History of the Court of Auditors of the German Reich.

 © Facts & Files

March

@FFHistorians - this is our twitter address. We are tweeting with hashtags as #historyagency #historycommunication #Berlin #historians #archive #Historiker #publichistory #digitalhistory #twitterhistorians #twitterstorians since March 1, 2016.

Ausstellungsansicht ABSTRAKTIONEN - Werke aus der Sammlung von Popowa bis Nicolai, Raum Kosmos © © Wilhelm-Hack-Museum, 2016, Foto: Johannes Vogt

April

Since April 2016 Facts & Files has been researching on the provenance of several art pieces belonging to the Wilhelm Hack Museum in Ludwigshafen. The Wilhelm Hack Museum was founded in 1979 and includes the Municipal Art Collection of Ludwigshafen, and a collection of medieval and modern art donated to the city by Wilhelm Hack in 1973.

May

The #BigArtRide project was a part of the Europeana280 campaign to launch the Europeana Art History Collection and celebrate the 2016 Dutch Presidency of the EU. The virtual-reality bicycle race, #BigArtRide, is a new way to (re)discover these artworks. In Berlin, from 30 May to 1 June 2016, anyone interested could ride on a stationary bicycle, fully equipped with virtual-reality technology through a virtual city and dive onto the fascinating world of European art history.

 © Facts & Files

June

On June 27, 2016, we organised a workshop at the High school Primo Levy Gymnasium in  Berlin-Weißensee. 16 students of the 10th grade transcribed handwritten documents of the Europeana 1914-1918 project. At the #Transcribathon competition five groups took part. The international jury (Australia, Netherlands, Germany) awarded prices within the categories transcription and presentation.

August

We are researching in German archives for the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM), Washington D.C. since 2004. The USHMM International Acquisitions and Reproduction Program is responsible for the compilation of files from European archives that document the persecution and massacre of the Jewish people in Europe. In August 2016, the microfilming of new files from the records of the German Federal Archives in Koblenz started. 

 © Facts & Files

September

Since 2013, Facts & Files is providing archival service for the General Secretariat of the German Red Cross. At the conference of DRK-Museums, which took place from September 16 to 18, 2016 in Berlin, Hans-Christian Bresgott presented the archive and its holdings.

 © Facts & Files

October

Following up from last semester we are co-organising a seminar at Humboldt University on Indian sources in Berlin archives. The seminar is part of the MIDA project funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. The students are visiting archives in Berlin and also meet at our office (for evidence see picture).

November

The transcription tool Transcribe e1914-1918 was developed by Facts & Files  and Olaf Baldini to transcribe handwritten documents from the Europeana 1914-1918 online archive. It was launched on November 7, 2016 at the Europeana Network Association Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Riga. A Transcribathon competition started there as well. For details please see here. To explore the transcription tool please go to http://www.transcribathon.eu.

	 Frage- und Antwortspiel : Das große Verbraucherspiel © 	 Verbraucher-Zentrale Nordrhein-Westfalen e.V. (Herausgeber) & Maletzky, Claus (Design) & Schneider, H.J. (Autor)

December

We are conducting research on consumer-policy, historical milestones and consumer legislation commissioned by the  Federation of German Consumer Organisations . The vzbv was founded in 2000 when its predecessor organisations merged. In 1953, the Working Association of the Consumer Organisations was founded by social work associations, women organisations and consumers' cooperatives.

Review 2014

Review 2015